Best wheel size and tyres for Blitz

vexedben

Hi,

I have been researching which wheels to put on my buggy. I am very unsure as to what would be the best for my blitz project and what tyres would be best. All mini wheels just seem to be really expensive, any one know where to get these pretty cheaply?

Ben

Mini Mad Max

Well if you think mini wheels are expensive, you'd be shocked at prices for other alloy wheels. Can you give us an idea of what you want for what kinda budget?

vexedben

Well I'm thinking quite wide rims like 6-8 inches, would 12 inch be ok or is 13 better?. Will be running it on and offroad hopefully. Don't know if a set of alloys with road tyres and a set of steelies with offroad tyres would be a good plan? I suppose up to £200 maybe. I'm really not sure what they are worth. Sorry for being so hapless at this. It's my first build and any help is greatly appreciated. :)

jim600

vexedben":2lvhj0ev said:
Well I'm thinking quite wide rims like 6-8 inches, would 12 inch be ok or is 13 better?. Will be running it on and offroad hopefully. Don't know if a set of alloys with road tyres and a set of steelies with offroad tyres would be a good plan? I suppose up to £200 maybe. I'm really not sure what they are worth. Sorry for being so hapless at this. It's my first build and any help is greatly appreciated. :)

If your running mini hubs then youll need 101.6 pcd in which case weller wheels work well for on/offroad use - available in 6 or 7" wide and 10,12,13 diameter - you should be able to get a full set on ebay for under 100 quid.

If you have quad hubs then utv wheels in 4/110 pcd fitment would be good (need to be rated to enough weight so utv wheels are better than quad.)

Tyres - 12" there are loads of e-marked quad tyres, 22x10x12/22x8/12 are a pretty standard size - again around 100 quid on ebay. Or look for fedima/malatesa/maxsport tyres - all available in 12/13" and they have pretty good mud/offroad tread - check for e-marks/clearance though.