Front mud guard mounts

Leigh1299

Hi all ,
Does anyone have a set off front mudguard mounts for a freestyle buggy that they would sell ? Prefers the same as in the photo.
thanks

250buggys

I had to fab up a set for mine, if you can't weld pop to a local fabrication shop to get some made. Looks like you have templates. As they line up on 4 holes can be tricky. I had to spot weld mine, tack in place then final weld on the bench. Mild steel is cheap and so is hammerite.

The front cycle wings take a right bashing due to the vibrations from the road so it is likely that the welds will fail often.

I now carry some rope so when they fail I can strap them up to get hone without having to put it in the buggy and chop the wiring.

All good fun..

Oops just missed England's second goal while typing! And now the third!!

250buggys

Why not repair the ones you have? If not it would be worth considering why the welds fail and redesign but I am an electrical engineer not mechanical.

Leigh1299

I was going to take mine off over the winter and get a set made for the rears as the rears keep braking !!! I didn’t want to take them off now as buggy in daily use . If someone had a set I could buy it would just be quicker and easier from that point off view … hope that makes sense 🤔
Good England game too 😀

250buggys

The Freestyle was sold as a kit conversion and not a kit car so the chances of ever finding any spares is very unlikely.

You don't need to wait until winter, my front cycle wings are solid I can sit on them, if yours are likely to fail best to get to it now. It is not much fun when they do!
The welds just need grinding/cleaning up and then get as many beads of weld on as possible on the flat plate. As said before they have a really hard life, every post hole or bump they get a bash and they are on the unsprung side.