Freestyle Suspension Geometry

Lilspeed

OK, had a good catch up with the Muddybuggies Massive at Stoneleigh yesterday, and talk turned to wayward handling and suspension geometry.
Now, I've had my fair share of buttock clenching moments in my own and other people's buggies, and decided when I started my own build that getting it to handle as best it could was one of the main priorities.
So, a bit of background so you don't all (Ok maybe some of you don't :) )think I'm talking out my arse! I am a qualified Mechanical Engineer and have messed about with Mini's for more than half my life, with my old blue one developing in to a 1293cc fast road/track stormer, giving me lots of experience with geometry and it's effects. As well as my 'experiments' with the buggy I also help out with development of a friend's supercharged mini competing in the DEWS Speed Hillclimb series.
I don't have a garage full of expensive alignment equipment. My 'toolkit' consists of a 60 quid laser tracking kit from eBay, a tape measure, spirit level, and various lengths of metal and wood considered straight enough for the job! I don't feel that full four wheel laser alignment is at all necessary unless your vehicle has fully rose jointed suspension eliminating all the variation in geometry that is inevitable with bushed suspension.