Potential Buggy Build?

Bansh3e

Well guys... I am new to the whole buggy thing and was talking with some friends about potentially building a buggy type thing. I have an Isuzu Trooper for the scrap but it runs. It has a 3.1 Turbo diesel engine in it so it would be a monster. Is this going to be suitable for a buggy with weight and stuff, could even the other end up perhaps. Was going to try and use the Isuzus gear box aswell. We were going to try and make the frame from scratch because one of us can weld but im wondering if this is actually all possible? or is this just a dream?

Thanks

Phaeton

Staff member
Sorry about missing this, I read it & thought must reply later & forgot Doh!

Welcome to the club, as with anything, anything is possible, given enough time, money & facilities. It also depends what you want to do with it? Do you want to make it road legal, will it just be trailered to purpose built off-road tracks or do you have some fields to play in. You can spend an awful lot of money on something which ends up not doing what you want, or you could sell the engine/gearbox as spares buy a Vitara which has a proven record.

OR you could stitch together a ladder frame, hang the Trooper suspension, engine, gearbox & have an awesome machine.

Alan...

Bansh3e

Thanks very much for the reply.

Basically, I have a good bit of land to play on, grass and sand. Can you explain more about this ladder frame that you were talking about.

Thanks

Phaeton

Staff member
Firstly this is all theoretically I have no specific knowledge as it's beyond anything I have done. Do you know if the Trooper is monocoque or chassis & body? If monocoque then you are starting from scratch, but if chassis & body then you're on your way.