Starting Out

dannywill

Hi

I am new here, I am looking into building a buggy
I have a few questions, hopefully somebody can help.

I have never done anything like this before, what sort of experience/technical know-how do I need? Are instructions supplied?

What sort of budget should I have in mind to get me started? Also what sort of budget for the whole lot including getting it on the road?

What are the alternatives to the freestyle?
I will be using it for off road use, road legal just for getting where I'm going (if that makes sense?)
Would like somthing that is relatively cheap to build with easily sourcable spares.

Sorry for all the questions, look forward to replies

Thanks in advance,
Dan.

Asbo

try ebay,theres a road-legal one for sale there at the mo,2500 english pounds last time i looked,which is a bit of a bargain considering all the hassle involved doin' one 'from scratch'.alternatively,dave is easily contacted to order a new kit....your move.lol.

Phaeton

Staff member
"dannywill"":3iv18jm2 said:
Hi

I am new here, I am looking into building a buggy
I have a few questions, hopefully somebody can help.
Welcome Danny, we will try to help all we can.

I have never done anything like this before, what sort of experience/technical know-how do I need? Are instructions supplied?
Basic mechanical knowledge is useful, but not essential, I think you need a logical brain more than anything & not to be frightened of new things. Instructions, well sort of, there is a basic build manual which is out of date.
What sort of budget should I have in mind to get me started? Also what sort of budget for the whole lot including getting it on the road?
For a basic SVA kit you're looking around £2.3k, then you have to find a Mini (enter price from £250-£500) then there's the refurbishment of parts £300, you'll need seats, possibly wheels & various other bling. Then there's SVA fee's currently £185 (I think)
What are the alternatives to the freestyle?