Bruces long Freestyle project

BRUC3

So today I finally picked up my Freestyle after waiting patiently for a few weeks.

Its going to be an on-going project which in truth will probably be spread over a couple of years!

At this time my girlfriend is currently 27 weeks pregnant with our first, so we will see how old Ruby will be once the buggy is fully SVA'd and road legal!

I have basic knowledge from owning a mini pickup a few years ago. (about 6 years to be a bit more precise!)

All the work will be carried out in my garage which doesnt have electric or heating, so cant see much getting done through the winter months! I do however have a generator which enables me to use a grinder etc...!

Anyways, thats enough anout my background and on to the buggy!

So I set off at 8.30 this morning in my Transit van. The overall journey consisted of 2 cars, a smashed headlight, 1 car trailer, and a full tank of fuel! (dont ask!)

I got the buggy home about 2, and the first job was to get all the body panels out of the way as its only a single garage!

2010-05-15170029.jpg

Next up was to jack the car up and sit him onto some axle stands so I could start witht he stripping!

Here he is sat up...

2010-05-15170048.jpg

And then the work started!

2010-05-15170014.jpg

Anyways, im affraid to say other than removing a few rusty old bolts I didnt get very far at all due to having to pick up the mrs from town!

Hopefully get back out there tomorrow and get cracking!

BRUC3

As the above pictures are a bit pants, heres a few more just so you can get a general idea of what condition the buggy is in!

This is the front as it currently stands. I couldnt remove the N/S hub completly as it needs a knock, and its a bit late to be banging about!  :-\

SAM_0450.jpg

As you can see in this pic, the floor is pretty badly corroded, so will probably remove that all together and fit some shiny chequer plate down instead!

SAM_0449.jpg